top of page

Look for Beauty in Every Day

Some years ago my brilliant Mum gave me the best piece of advice I've ever received - to look for beauty in every day. Its always there, no matter what, even if on some days you have to look really hard to find it. Remembering this helps me so much in life and I notice and appreciate things that I may not have done before - beautiful views, trees in the Autumn, wild flowers, a stunning sky - the list is endless. But, more importantly, the piece of advice wasn't simply about searching out beautiful things but to learn to appreciate and be thankful for what is immediately around us. Most of the time, no matter what unfortunate things may be happening in our lives , there is usually something to be grateful for. The most basic things can be seen as a gift if you have the right mindset. What adds to the strength of this advice is that my Mum was critically ill when she gave it to me - and her positive attitude helped her to survive.

Recently, while experiencing a low mood, a friend of mine whom I had passed this guidance onto, passed it back to me along with other words of advice I had given her in the past. While she was struggling with low mood I had suggested she keep a gratitude journal and also to write lists of things she had to look forward to and people in her life that loved her. So when she suggested I do the same when I was low, it was so lovely to learn that not only had my advice helped her, but also she benefitted so much from it that she advised me to do the same. I did and after a while it really helped.

I accept now that I will get low but instead of thinking its the end of the World, I now accept it, acknowledge it, know that eventually it will pass and move on. At these low times it can be really hard to be grateful but you have to make a choice and choose to be thankful. So long as you keep on looking for that beauty in every day, remembering what you are grateful for and what you have to look forward to with people that love you - even those tough times in life will seem easier. It can take a bit of practise to teach your mind to think this way, but I promise you it will be worth it. And its definitely worth remembering, if you are feeling low, beautiful views and stunning countryside are a great remedy!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page